Song Analysis: Gravity– John Mayer

Gravity [John Mayer]

Gravity is working against me
And gravity wants to bring me down

Oh I’ll never know what makes this man
With all the love that his heart can stand
Dream of ways to throw it all away

Oh Gravity is working against me
And gravity wants to bring me down

Oh twice as much ain’t twice as good
And can’t sustain like a one half could
It’s wanting more
That’s gonna send me to my knees
[repeat]

Oh gravity, stay the hell away from me
And gravity has taken better men than me (now how can that be?)

Just keep me where the light is
Just keep me where the light is
Just keep me where the light is
C’mon keep me where the light is
C’mon keep me where the light is
Oh… where the light is! [repeat]

There is no man nor woman out there who does not face struggles in their life. You could say that struggles in life is inevitable. Just like death, aging, or gravity. In this song by John Mayer, he says that, “Gravity wants to bring me down.” Isn’t that what Gravity does, to keep us on the ground? Well, that is what it does literally but in John Mayer’s point of view, he sees it differently.

In the song, we can see many elements of poetry which help us understand the song better in the way John Mayer wrote it. We can see what he was thinking or how he was feeling when he wrote the song. In the song we can find elements such as mood, sound, tone, and figures of speech. Instead of writing all of these down, we’ll just focus on two, which are figures of speech and mood.

In my understanding of the song, there are only a few examples of figures of speech given in the song. An example is “Gravity wants to bring me down.” This is a figure of speech in the form of personification. The writer is saying that gravity wants to bring him down as if the gravity has an intention just like we do. Since gravity is not a living thing and is portraying an action of a living thing, we can conclude that it is using personification.

In the song we can see the writer portraying a certain mood in his song. In my opinion, the mood that the writer is portraying is sadness, grief, or regret. He writes in his song that he is being brought down which reminds me of somebody being sad or is feeling down. Feeling down can mean sadness or regret in someone’s life.

The song can be interpreted in many ways and by other types of people. The song may be about a heartbroken person to someone or a depressed man to someone else. But to me, this song talks about being brought down. As the writer, John Mayer, says that gravity wants to bring him down, it helps me understand the song in this aspect.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

