QuickWrite #2: Quickly Sickly

I’ve done many things just to get out of going to school but the one I did the most was pretending to be sick. There was one particular day in 3rd grade that I really did not want to go to school because of the fact that we had a test on that day. I haven’t studied for that test and I expected it to be really difficult. I was thinking of cramming that night but instead I thought of an excuse to not go to school. I thought of having body pains and sprains but I knew it wasn’t believable. So I continued thinking about it.

The next morning, I got out of bed, acting woozy and pretending I had a hard time lifting myself out of bed. I went to the bathroom to take a shower and I thought of a brilliant plan to make my parents believe that I was sick. I turned the temperature of the water really high and had a nice hot shower. You could see the steam blurring the mirror and the window. To add to that, after I got dressed, I got the blow dryer and blow dried my forehead, my armpits, my neck and my torso. That part was one of the most uncomfortable things I have ever done. Imagine hot air blowing on your face really high, but it didn’t matter to me anymore. All I wanted to do was get out of going to school so I wouldn’t have to take that test.

Once, I completed “prepping” myself for being sick, I walked up to my parents and gave them the, “I’m sick” dialogue. I said all the phrases, “I don’t feel so good”,”My head hurts” and “I feel dizzy”. In the end, my parents believed it. I stayed home, watched TV, used the computer and studied a little for that test I was suppose to take that day.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

